The World’s Oldest Author, and it ain’t me!

Wendy!

Number one son just brought home the Guinness Book of World Records and yes!!  There is hope for our careers!!

Apparently, Louise Delany and her sister, Elizabeth Delany published their second book, The Delany Sisters’ Book of Everyday Wisdom’  back in 1994, when she was just 105 years old.  I don’t know about you, but this puts a HUGE gust of wind in my sails.  I’m not even half her age yet.  You know, we outta think about doing a book together one day, in say…50 or 60 years.  Yeah, sure, we’d be all done with menopause, so we’d have to think up some new thing to gripe…er, offer wisdom about, but I say let’s go for it!

I’m gonna go to Amazon now, and see if I can get ahold of a copy of their book.  It’s my new holy grail.

Carolyn

5 Comments

Filed under Menopause, Older writers, Writing

5 responses to “The World’s Oldest Author, and it ain’t me!

  1. I LOVE THIS BLOG! And am going to send lots of “older” folks over here. (Wait, did I say that??) So fun and candid…and so much spew! It’s nice to know as a menopause author I’m not alone with my misery. Obviously you’re miserable too, Carolyn, but in a fun, screw it all way. And your kid stories bring back all the memories – as crazy and unbelievable as they all were. Keep up your posts and writing…it’s great!! 😀

  2. Wendy

    I’m 48 with a six-year-old. I’m not planning to be cognizant at 105. I’m not planning to be cognizant in ten years. If we’re going to write a bestseller, we need to hurry.

    Good plan, otherwise.

    Wendy

  3. Ah…somehow I think you’ve already done that, Wendy. 😀

  4. My father, Dr. Ken Maxwell of Huntington Beach, Calif has completed
    his latest book and will be 104 on 27the Sept 2012. He is likely the
    oldest single author in the U.S. His book is completed and will be
    published later this year. He has no plans to retire.

    Dave Maxwell, Son

    • WOW! Happy Birthday to Dr. Maxwell!!! Too Hot Mamas will think of him on his birthday and keep our eyes out for his book. (Hopefully it will give lots of advice on how to live long and well!) Amazing. Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

