Why is that? An Andy Rooney-esque Ramble

I love the way Andy Rooney from 60 Minutes says, “Why is that?”

Why is that?

I’ve been wondering that myself, lately.  For example, why is it, when I’m in line at the grocery store, the lady ahead of me always chooses at least one item with no pricing info available in the entire universe?  And, why, after holding up the line for and ungodly amount of time, does she wait until she hears the grand total before she reaches for her purse and begins to fumble for her checkbook?  Don’t ya just love it when they stand there and balance their checkbook, mumbling stuff like, “Let’s see… carry the two…no, wait, why is my checkbook not balancing?” 

Why is that?

Why is it, when the milk is sitting out on the counter and I ask all five of my children, “Who left the milk out?” they all say (in unison) “Not me.”  Weird.  The dog must have grown opposable thumbs and dragged the milk out of the fridge, poured himself a bowl of cereal and forgotten to put the milk back.  I wonder why the dog uses every last drop of ketchup and puts the bottle back in the fridge?  Why is that?

Why is it that the second I sit down on the potty, the phone rings?  Why is it that we have one dozen wireless phone in our house, but when the phone rings, we can never find one?  When I ask the kids, “Hey, who put the phone in the refrigerator?” they all say (in unison) “Not me!”

Why is that? 

Tick,tick,tick,tick,tick,

Carolyn

2 Comments

Filed under Marriage, Menopause, Motherhood, Older writers, Writing

2 responses to “Why is that? An Andy Rooney-esque Ramble

  1. Ah, yes….the joys of motherhood are endless. LOL.

  2. Shirley Karr

    I remember a Family Circus cartoon wherein the mom posed the same kind of who-did-this query, receiving the “Not me!” chorus in reply. There was an extra kid in the frame, outlined as a ghost, with a mischievous gleam in his eye and the name tag Not Me on his shirt. So I guess Not Me lives at your house, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

