My Tombstone

Taxi driver, laundress, chef, referee, counselor, maid... no wonder she was cranky!

  Ever wonder what your headstone will say?  My kids tell me they are going to emblazon the words OLD YELLER on mine.  Funny, kids.  Remember the last scene in the Stephen King movie, “Carrie?”  Yeah.  Stand back.

So.  Been thinking about my mortality lately.  An amazing woman I know just passed away at the tender age of 48.  Cancer.  I went to her memorial and, while I was waiting for the service to begin, I read the leaflet her family had provided.  Since she knew she was terminal, she’d written a note of inspiration to those she left behind entitled:

The Dash, by Jenni Reiling.  It was wonderfully thought-provoking and one especially cool thing that stood out to me was the following:

Most tombstones have two dates separated by a dash.  I recently heard a speaker say, “No one can control the very nanosecond they begin existence on the Earth.  Subsequently, no man can control the very moment they are to exit Earth.  The only thing anyone has control over is how we live the dash.”  The speaker asked, “Are you dashing through life or are you living the dash?”

Do you ever feel as if you are so caught up in your day-to-day routine of full throttle activities and appointments and craziness that you never really take the time to simply live?  To thank God for the simple pleasures?  To enjoy what you’ve got and stop dashing after that next…thing?  How sad it would be to never fully live the dash because we were too busy.

I think another resolution for this year will be to live the dash.  Thank you, Jenni.

Carolyn

3 Comments

Filed under Death

3 responses to “My Tombstone

  1. Thanks for the reminder… as I dash out on my next appointment I’ll set time aside later in the day to reflect, refresh and to gather family and friends to live the dash 🙂

  2. Debbie Douglas

    What a great reminder…so simple so true…here I go living the dash!

  3. Jill

    As I said the other day, it makes me wonder what kind of legacy I will leave. Will folks rmember the love and grace of Jesus seen in me or will they think “that is one grouchy, crazy lady.” Helps to be reminded to re evaluate.

Leave a Reply

