The Bachelor–Show ’em how it’s done, kiddo.

I  think my daughter was asked out on her first date.  She’s eight.  He’s an older man–almost nine.  It went like this:

Older man:  “Hey.  You wanna come over for dinner?  My mom will say yes.”

My daughter (who is shy about things like this):  “Um.  I don’t know.  Mom, what do you think?”

Me:  “It’s fine if you’d like to, sweetie.”

Daughter:  “Mmmm…”

Older Man:  “Come on.  Please?  It’s macaroni and cheese!”

Daughter:  “I’m not sure–”

Older Man:  “Macaroni and chee-eeeese.”

Daughter (weakening):  “Well…”  She turns to me.  ” Mom, what are we having?”

Before I can answer, her new boyfriend slaps his forehead :  “Aw, come on!  Mac and cheese!”

She agreed.

I think he handled that well.  I watch The Bachelor and The Bachelorette (so sue me, I’m a romance writer) and I think this kid handled himself better than some of the bigger boys on that show.  He was persuasive.  Emphatic.  Clear about his intentions (eat the macaroni and cheese together), confident about the evening ahead.  I like him.  She could do a lot worse.  And, he lives right across the street.

After dinner, my daughter told me that if they get married they will buy a home down the block, so they can be close to both their families.

Yep, could do a whole lot worse.

Whew, that’s a load off my mind.

Wendy

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “The Bachelor–Show ’em how it’s done, kiddo.

  1. I just read this to a “younger” guy…okay he was my son. We both laughed and laughed. He reminds me as I’m typing this, he’s the younger guy in his relationship. And he would live down the block, if he could buy the mountain behind me 🙂 He does not invite his girl for mac & cheese.

Leave a Reply

