Cooking When You’re MADHD

I love to feed my dog.  LOVE it.  She actually eats what I cook.  Licks her chops afterward.  Licks me.  The dog adores salads, sauteed kale, brown rice and quinoa pilaf.  I think she’s my soul mate.

My husband and daughter?  Not so much.  I know they wish our kitchen window was a drive-up.  This week, DD and her friend were in the front yard, saw me standing at the sink and yelled, “Can we have Big Macs, fries and lemonade?”

“No, but I have something so much better!  I made Hawaiian tofu wraps, sweet potato tater tots and sparkling apple juice.”  I waited for the shouts of joy.

My daughter and her friend looked at each other.

“We’ll wait,” my daughter said.

“For what?”

“Dad.”

I loved my mother’s cooking.  Everyone did.  My husband tells me that my mother was able to make even packaged food taste better than the manufacturer ever dreamed.  So that got me thinking…

I pulled out my mother’s personal cookbook, packed with the recipes of my youth.  In her later years, she began altering her recipes to reflect a simpler cooking style, and I think I know why:  Menopausal ADHD–Attention Deficit Hotflash Dissorder.  I don’t have the attention span to make anything elaborate.  We eat raw half the time, because five minutes after I turn on the flame, I will forget that I was cooking at all and burn the whole meal.   HOWEVER…

Here’s a recipe I believe I can do.  We ate it for breakfast or dinner when I was a kid.  I’m going to give it a whirl.  I know the dog’s going to be ecstatic, and perhaps my two-legged family will look forward to eating at home.  They might even lick me.

BUBBE’S BLINTZ SOUFFLE

12 frozen cheese blintzes (use the tofu kind from Trader Joe’s and non-dairy sour cream for a dairy-free version, but don’t blame Bubbe if it’s not as good as the original recipe)

1 large carton sour cream

4 eggs, well beaten

1 tsp vanilla

Your favorite jam

Place blintzes in casserole so they touch, but are not more than 1 layer deep.  Mix remaining ingredients together–pour over blintzes.  Bake in 350 degree oven for 45 minutes.

Dab a little jam over the top of each serving and accompany with fresh fruit.

L’Chayim,

Wendy

2 Comments

Filed under 35 symptoms of menopause, Children, Cooking

2 responses to “Cooking When You’re MADHD

  1. MADHD might be the best thing I’ve read. Ever!

Leave a Reply

